Clear SharePoint Designer cache

Sometimes SharePoint Designer loses touch with reality - it demands to check out files that are not checked in, refuses to check in other files and generally misbehaves. This demeanor is sometimes accompanied by this error message:
"Cannot perform this operation. The file is no longer checked out or has been deleted."
Simply put, SharePoint Designer is out of sync with SharePoint and you have to delete its cache in order to rebuild it. The cache is composed of these 2 folders:
  • %APPDATA%\Microsoft\Web Server Extensions\Cache
  • %USERPROFILE%\AppData\Local\Microsoft\WebsiteCache
Just delete their contents and you are done.
I found the solution here but I kept forgetting it so I thought I'd better document it myself.

Print Friendly and PDF

3 comments:

Johan Helsén said...

Thank you!

bob said...

terrific!

Scott Lock said...

Ami - Thank you! I was having an issue that when SharePoint designer crashes or closes unexpectedly the folder (list) that I was in is no longer visible in the All Files view under its parent. So say I have "Documents\SomeSite", after the crash I can't see "SomeSite" through designer. I thought I had lost a ton of work until I cleared the cache. Live saver you are.

Post a Comment